Gulf of Mexico Oil Spill Blog Gretna Heritage Festival 2010

Heading out to the Gretna Heritage Festival tomorrow. Going for the music of course. Last performance of the night will be the Doobie Brothers.

Takes me back to the first live concert I went to. The Doobie Brothers played at the International Amphitheatre in Chicago. It has been torn down since. I was 16, and drove two friends up to Chicago. Thought my dad was brave to give me the car. I had been driving since I was 12. Guess he thought I could handle it. Can you imagine a parent handing over the keys to a kid today? Anyway we got really drunk on Boones Farm Wine and made out with some chicks from Palatine.. first time I drove on the Chicago Skyway, we hit 120 mph on the way back. Those were the days.

The second time I saw them was at Alpine Valley Music Theatre in Wisconsin. I had a job there as security for the summer concerts. That time I got to drink with Pat Simmons at the chalet bar after the show. He talked about riding around the Wisconsin countryside on the Harleys he and the band had shipped up to the concert. Man, if heaven exists, these guys found it.

Playboy Club Lake GenevaAlpine Valley is about 30 mile from Lake Geneva Wisconsin. And if you are old enough, you know there was Playboy Club there. The first time I saw a bunny I lost my mind. To this day, I haven’t found it. Maybe it will be at the fest tomorrow.

Gretna Heritage Festival

 

South City Midnight Lady
 
Up all night I could not sleep
The whiskey that I drank was cheap
With shakin’ hands I went and I lit up my last cigarette
Well the sun came, night had fled
And sleepy eyed I reached my bed
I saw you sleepy dreamin’ there all covered and warm

South City midnight lady
I’m much obliged indeed
You sure have saved this man whose soul was in need
I thought there was no reason
For all these things I do
But the smile that I sent out returned with you

When day has left the night behind
And shadows roll across my mind
I sometimes find myself alone out walkin’ the street
Yes, and when I’m feelin’ down and blue
Then all I do is think of you
And all my foolish problems seem to fade away

South City midnight lady
I’m much obliged indeed
You sure have saved this man whose soul was in need
I thought there was no reason
For all these things I do
But the smile that I sent out returned with you

Gulf of Mexico Oil Spill Doobie Brothers 2Gulf of Mexico Oil Spill Blog Doobie BrothersGulf of Mexico Oil Spill Doobie Brothers 4Gulf of Mexico Oil Spill Doobie Brothers 4

 

 

 

The ferry ride from downtown New Orleans to Gretna was the shit. It took about 25 mins. one way. Hell of a way to go to a concert. Took these pics off the Jumbotron. Great composition, but bad pixelation. Hope you like them. Gretna could be a day trip.

Doobie Brothers Pics Gretna Hertiage Festival 2010

The City of Gretna received considerable press coverage when, in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina (late August 2005), people who attempted to escape from New Orleans by walking over the Crescent City Connection bridge over the Mississippi River were turned back at gunpoint by City of Gretna Police, along with Crescent City Connection Police and Jefferson Parish Sheriff’s deputies, who set up a roadblock on the bridge in the days following the hurricane. According to eyewitnesses, some of these officers threatened to shoot New Orleans residents and tourists as they attempted to cross into Gretna on foot.

This entry was posted in Gulf of Mexico Oil Spill Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

